Friends of the Arts
1800 W. Cornelia Avenue
Chicago, IL

Friends of the Arts Awards Program - Past Recipients

2009 - FOTA is proud to honor the many outstanding art teachers of the Chicago Public Schools and the hard work of the Office of Arts Education

The mission of the Office of Arts Education, part of the CPS Office of Teaching and Learning, is to provide more students with access to a quality arts education with meaningful arts experiences inside and outside the classroom. They are a resource for teachers, principals and arts organizations on arts curricula and discipline-based learning strategies, arts integration, professional development for teachers and principals, arts partnerships and arts teaching credentials. They are also passionate advocates of greater funding in arts education.

2008 - We honor our FOTA 10 year members

Jacque Ames
Nancy Pirri
James Klekowski
Jennifer La Civita
Wayne Tjaden
Amy Huisinga
Lee Gatewood
Judy Zeddies


Richard Maltz - Long time FOTA member and artist
Cynthia Quick - Director of the October Chicago Artists’ Month
Salvador Jimenez - Pilsen community activist art activist
Michael Gaylord James - Heartland Cafe activist art supporter
Rogers Park Art Center - Community Art Center
Matt Nichols - FOTA Rep for Roscoe Village
Alderman Gene Schulter - Ravenswood Art Support


Phil Martini - Chicago Park District Instructor
Kaleidoscope Gallery, Barrington
Ted Preuss - FOTA member, seminar instructor
Woman Made Gallery
Dayna Block & Sarah Laining - Open Studio Project, Evanston
Mark Oldach & Bill Current - Refuge Center for Artists in Recovery


Jeff Semmerling - Puppet artist and mask maker
Chris Loutris - Community art support, Carroll Arts Building
Nancy Pirri - Sculptor and instructor
Pam Robinson - Jewellery instructor and Coordinator at Lill Street Gallery
Gallery 203 - Flat Iron Building Emerging Artists? Gallery
Wishbone Restaurant -Providing art gallery show space
Bill Marquardsen - Ravenswood and Lincoln Square art supporter
Alan Hicks - Performance artist


Richard Stromberg - Director of the Chicago Center for Photography
Robert Smeltzer - Long time Chicago painter
Meg Biddle - Director of Lincoln Square Pottery Studio
Jonathan Dixon - Director of New Town Writer?s Group
Timmy Samuel - artists and photographer
Jason Messinger - FOTA Rep and fine arts coordinator


Ed Hinkley, Art teacher at Lill Street and Lincoln Sq. Art Studio,
Anatasia Makarenko - Emerging artist and active networking in the art community
Kevin Swallow - FOTA Rep at Boost Cafe and Andersonville Art Walk
Jessica Clarke - Associate Editor In These Times and co-curator of the
Illegal Art Show
Margaret Klimek Phillips - Director Childrens Art program at Art Institute,
1966 - 1992
Kyle Higgins - Director Cabrini Green Childrens Art outreach program
Charles Angell - Founder and Director of Inner City Light Program


Marianne Lappanen - Founder of Gallery EGG and art educator
Peter Jones - Director, Peter Jones Gallery and curator of art benefits
Aldo Castillo - Gallery Owner and curator of art benefits
Angela Allyn - Director of Evanston Arts Council
Keith Kaminski - Coordinator of CAC digital events and curator


Barton Faist - Advocate to save the Tree Art Studios
Margarette Gross - Director of the Chicago Artists Archives
Debra Hatchett - Director of Anatomically Art Gallery
A. Bernardo Marigmen, III - Director of the Waukegan Fine Arts Guild
Nicole Aimee Macaluso - Art historian, educator and art promoter
Andy Mitran - Founder of the Men's Art Forum Chicago
James O. Stola - Fine Arts advocate and organization consultant


Thomas Frerk - FOTA Co-chairperson, Outstanding Contributions
Richard Garza - Gallery 2828 Director
Connie Hinkle - Chicago Artist
Tony Izzo - Gallery 2828 Director
Adele Kiel - Chicago Artist
Jennifer La Civita Kimrough - Director Portage Park Arts Center
Judy O'Connell - Lincoln Park Cultural Center Summer Art Show
Olga Stefan - Around the Coyote Arts Director
Marya Veeck - August House Gallery Art Director


Sandra Berger, Chicago Artist
Jacque Ames, Co-founder, NOMADSCentral Art Group
Tor Dettwiler, Art Educator, Victor J. Andrew High School
Walter Fydryck, Chicago Arist
Rachel Pagacz, Art Educator, Prospect Heights Public Schools
Arlene Rakoncay, Director, Chicago Artists' Coalition


Stephen Timmer, Attorney at Law, Fagel & Haber
Wendy Wollenberg, Senior Editor, Where Magazine Chicago
Sheryl Morabito, Secretary to 32nd Ward Alderman Ted Matlak
Doug Birkenheuer, Co-host of FOTA Interpretive Salon Evenings
Rick Dean, Co-host of FOTA Interpretive Salon Evenings
Robert Jacob, Art Editor, the Chicago Reader


Carole Rosenkoetter, Presiden, Association for Roscoe Village Enterprises
Jon Tanner, FOTA WebSite Technician
Terry Gaskins, faithful volunteer and photographer
Tracy Baim, Senior Editor, Nightlines Magazine
Nick Scalzo, S-Mark Productions, Publicity
Mark Budwig, S-Mark Productions, Publicity